Touring Car Revival at the eighth round

Finally! The end of the VLN Langstreckenmeisterschaft summer break is approaching fast. The last third of the VLN Langstreckenmeisterschaft Nürburgring season will start with the 42nd ADAC Barbarossapris. And an additional, huge event can be expected, too. For the second time, the touring car revival will take place during the 42nd ADAC Barbarossapreis, a round of the most popular European endurance racing championship. The fans may look forward to see the former DTM cars again, such as the Mercedes 190 Evo II, BMW M3 E30, Rover Vitesse, Volvo 240 Turbo and Opel Omega 24V.

Contrary to the previous, first event of this kind, the exhibition of the historic race cars will this year be completely weather-proof. The wonderfully restored gems will be displayed in a big tent and may be inspected in detail by the fans. The cars will of course also proceed to a demonstration run the race track. Upon the request of many participants, the demonstration run will this year however be restricted to the short connection of the Grand Prix Circuit.

The fans around the Nordschleife will nevertheless not be bored, as on Saturday, between the timed practice and the race, they will be entertained by a spectacular corso including the make clubs Evo 500, 190E 16V and W201-16V. Almost 50 perfectly maintained youngtimer of the makes Opel and Mercedes-Benz will take part.

In addition to the highlights in the supporting events and the certainly exciting eighth race of the VLN Langstreckenmeisterschaft, the starting grid will include another small highlight. Two SLS AMG GT3 which will worldwide have their first race appearance ever are entered by AMG Mercedes. As the new GT3 race car does not yet have a “Balance of Performance” classification by the FIA, the two cars are classified in class E1-XP for their first test in a competition. The names of the crew members, though, are still kept secret by the team.

No fan of the Nürburgring should miss the 42nd ADAC Barbarossapreis. As usual, the timed practice will take place on Saturday morning beween 08:30 and 10:00 hrs and the race over four hours will then be started at 12 o’clock exactly.