Cayman GT4 Trophy: A sense of liberation for Schmickler Performance

Schmickler Performance clinches its first victory of the season: Ivan Jacoma, Claudius Karch and Kai Riemer in a Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport won the race of the Cayman GT4 Trophy by Manthey-Racing which was held as part of VLN race 5. In second place finished Moritz Kranz, Thorsten Jung, Nico Menzel and Fidel Leib of Mühlner Motorsport. The top three were completed by the Mathol Cayman driven by Marc Keilwerth, Marcos Adolfo Vazquez, Hendrik Still and Timo Mölig.

“It was quite a turbulent race. A big compliment to Moritz Kranz. His start in the wet conditions was excellent. Fortunately, we had six hours time to catch up. Today, everything fit together perfectly and the result is a first place – it felt like a sense of liberation after the last races”, said Kai Riemer.

In the morning qualifying, Jacoma, Karch and Riemer finished third. The Mühlner team with start number 979 took pole position and thus once again secured an extra championship point for the fastest practice time.

The ROWE 6 Hour ADAC Ruhr-Pokal-Rennen started in wet conditions. At the beginning, Moritz Kranz defended pole position and extended his lead. As the track was drying off later, the Schmickler trio reduced the gap to the class leaders lap by lap during the last third of the race. After a final phase which was filled with suspense and with the perfect pit stop strategy, the car with number 917 crossed the finish line after 38 laps in first place.

This season, both the new Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport and its predecessor model, the Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport, are eligible to start. There are three different titles to win in the Cayman GT4 Trophy by Manthey-Racing: In the drivers’ overall classification and in the team classification for the previous GT4-Cayman Generation 981 as well as in the team classification for cars of the new generation 982.

The first place in the team classification 981 was secured by the mid-engine sports car with start number 955 of Mathol Racing (Schicht/„Montana“). Leaders in the standings of the 981 classification is the Team Frikadelli Racing (´Jules´/von Danwitz/Schmitz) with start number 962. With their third place, Mathol Racing defended their lead in the 982 classification. The drivers classification is headed by Marc Keilwerth and Marcos Adolfo Vazquez.