Championship season 2013: The story so far…

The Opel 6 Hour ADAC Ruhr-Pokal-Rennen on 24 August marked both the end of the first half of the season and the start into the second half. The remaining calendar of the VLN endurance racing championship this year figures another four rounds. Reason enough to give a brief summary of what happened so far.

Into the lead of the drivers’ classification are Christoph Breuer (Nettersheim/ Germany) and Elmar Deegener (Stelzenberg/ Germany). The driver duo in the Audi TT RS 2.0 of the team Raeder-Motorsport scored victories in class SP3T (VLN Specials up to 2000 cc cylinder capacity with turbo) in all of the five races. Their advance ahead of second placed Michael Jacobs (Roetgen-Rott/ Germany), Oliver Kainz (Kottenheim/ Germany) and Georg Weiss (Monschau/ Germany) is 1.23 points. The driver trio of the Wochenspiegel Team Manthey Racing has gained three wins and two second places in class SP7 (VLN Specials up to 4000 cc cylinder capacity). Into third place follow Dirk and Tim Groneck (both from Melle/ Germany) with three successful results in the Renault Clio Cup class.

A special feature this year is that there will most probably be nine races after the opening round had to be cancelled. In application of the Regulations, the teams will thus have the possibility to claim one void result. Following the stopping of the third race and the allocation of half points, all of the teams have practically already used their void result. According to experience, the championship will normally be decided on basis of the eight top results and any driver scoring a poor result from now on will hardly have any more chances to still win the championship.

The VLN Speed Trophy shows the PIXUM Team Schubert (start number 20) in first place, followed by Phoenix Racing (start number 5). In the lead of the VLN Series Production Car Trophy are Hajo-Franz Müller (Odenthal/ Germany) and Dominik Thiemann (Lemgo/ Germany) with their BMW M3. Their make colleague Alexander Mies (Heiligenhaus/ Germany) is leading the VLN Junior Throphy.

The start of the 36th RCM DMV Grenzlandrennen will be given on Saturday, 14 September, at 12 o’clock exactly. The decisions about the grid positions will be taken previously in the timed practice between 08:45 and 10:15 hrs.